Scrambled Egg (Menemen!)

I am recently addicted to this scrambled egg called Menemen in Turkey. Actually my cousin did this to me. When I was in Istanbul visiting her, she took me and my friend to a nice small breakfast restaurant and we had Menemen. We all loved it and couldn’t forget the taste. By then I tried to cook Menemen and catch the same taste several times but I was not able to. Eventhough the recipe is very very easy, there are some tricks you must follow. One day I was back to Ankara and trying Menemen again, I realised that I have done it. Menemen should be juicy, in my attempts my Menemen was not juicy.

Scrambled Egg

Scrambled Egg

Ingridients:

1/2 cup olive oil

2 green pepper

1 big tomato

1 egg

1/2 cup white cheese

A little bir black pepper, salt, thyme, basil

1. Chop the pepper, and fry with olive oil a few minutes.

2. Chop the tomato and add them to pan. At his point you should wait enough until the tomato leaves all the water inside it. If you watch while they are on the heat, you will see the water comes out.

3. Add the chopped cheese.

4. After a minute add an egg and all the spices.

5. Mix to cook egg well.

Scrambled Egg

Scrambled Egg

With this recipe, you also should use summer tomatos. Unfortunately the winter has come and I say good bye to tomato and to Menemen. I will miss it.

Leave a Reply

