Pumpkin-Swirl Brownies

Pumpkin season has started and this year I don’t want to miss doing some recipes with pumpkin. This vegetable atracks me with the color and the taste. So I like having it in my refrigrator, and smelling when I take it from the oven!!

Expriencing pumpkin has just started. I have first done pumpkin puree. I put the slices in the oven rack on a baking sheet and cooked  for about 30-40 minutes. After the slices tender enough, I processed the slices in the food processor. Then I have the puree. I have made two more cup of the puree to use in the future pumpkin recipes like soup, muffin, pie etc.

I chose the recipe from smittenkitchen.  She also adapted the recipe from Martha Stewart. I looked at both recipes and started the action.

Ingredients:

160 gr. bitter chocolate

125 gr. butter

1 cup pumpkin puree

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

1 packet baking powder

1 packet vanilla extract

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup walnut

1.  Melt the chocolate and butter together in the cup placed in water.  Stir until smooth. Add walnut.

2. Stir pumpkin puree, oil, cinnamon and nutmeg together.

3. In an other bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, vanilla, cayenne pepper and salt. For the wet mixture, mix the eggs and sugar together with electric mixture. Then beat the both mixtures.

4. Divide the batter into two bowl. Add the chocolate in one of the bowl and add the pumpkin in the other bowl.

5.  Preheat the oven to 175 ˚CLine the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and butter the line.

6. Pour the half of the chocolate batter to the pan, continue with pumpkin batter. Repeat the layering one more. At the end, swirl the mixture to create marbled effect.

7. Cook for 30-35 minutes.


Leave a Reply

